RSS Feed

Islam Channel Film Festival

Posted on

Just saw this video, and had to share immediately:

I discussed this idea with Saima Hussain of Global Peace & Unity last year, and am really glad that they’re actually going ahead with it (not to imply that it was my idea – rather, she already had the idea… which we discussed… anyway).

I’m just a little annoyed that some of my suggestions were not taken on board… not that I aggressively promoted them or anything. But still. First, I recommended two main categories: amateur and professional. That’s because people like me – 100% amateurs – are going to be put off entering a race against media giants. Or even media freakishly tall people.

My second gripe is that there doesn’t seem to be a clear theme. The eligibility criteria state that the themes can be any of the following:

  • Identity
  • Human Rights
  • Women’s Rights
  • Family
  • Justice
  • Freedom
  • Jihad
  • War
  • Violence
  • History
  • Philosophy
  • Science
  • Art

If these 13 criteria weren’t wide enough, the list actually ends with the word “other”. Dudes, seriously… “other”?!

Anyway, I guess I am poking too many holes in something that has barely begun. I am sure it will get better with time, insha’Allah. And whether I (or we, in terms of the SFC) enter the festival this time round or not, I do like the idea that film-based creativity is finally being encouraged at a more professional level within the Muslim community. YouTube is great for ISoc-level events, but anyone who wants to be taken seriously has to step up and face challenges like the one above.

Even if you have no equipment, no experience, and no budget. But I guess that’s half the fun.

Leave a Reply

